Biblical Church Government – Part 1

Because there are three distinct Persons within the Godhead, Each divine Person's work (or tasks or duty or office)11 is different to that of the other two Persons.12   Each Person works sovereignly in His Own sphere – as it were, in "sphere-sovereignty."   For as the 1561 Belgic Confession of the Presbyterian and Reformed churches states, each of the "three Persons" of the Triune God operates through "particular offices"12 distinguished from one another by their individual personal properties — through the several official functions of Prophet and Priest and King.