Biblical Church Government – Part 2


In the New Testament, in addition to the fundamental triune Ministry of the Office of the Prophethood-Priesthood-Kingship of all Believers, there are also three special Ministries — that of Preacher, Deacon, and Elder.   All three — back via the three Old Testament Special Ministries of Prophet and Priest and King — ultimately seem to root in the Triune God Himself.1   For the Ministries of kingly Elder and priestly Deacon seem to root especially in God the Father and God the Holy Spirit respectively.2   And the Ministry of prophetic Preacher seems to root especially in God the Son (or the revelatory and the prophetic 'Word' of God).3