The Christian Foundations of Australia

There would be a bicameral Legislature, with a strong Senate to safeguard the interests of the several Colonies about to become States. All legislative power not vested in the new Federal Parliament, would remain with the States.

We now come to the Commonwealth of Australia Constitution Act. As stated in its Preamble, this was "An Act to constitute the Commonwealth of Australia" — precisely "whereas the people of New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia, Queensland and Tasmania — humbly relying on the blessing of Almighty God — have agreed to unite in one indissoluble Federal Commonwealth under the Crown." The Schedule at the end of the Constitution records the Oath to be sworn by all Federal Members of Parliament, to uphold the Queen and her successors according to law — "so help me God!"